Extravagence

By the cold grey sea,
Delicious extravagence,
A Prince's folly.


Went into Brighton today to have lunch with some friends and a look around the Biba exhibition at the Pavilion museum.

The lady herself, Babara Hulanicki, was there signing books, but there was a huge queue and I couldn't get close enough for a photo.

The exhibition was interesting and nostalgic, although it's surprising how modern many of her clothes designs still look. I remember going to the "Big Biba" store in Kensington in the late 70's. It was very dark and decadent with lots of ostrich feathers and art deco styling. I couldn't afford to buy anything so after soaking up the whole experience I came away with a black ostrich feather and some dark brown nail varnish .... how cool was I?

The bus stop to get home is just in from of Brighton Pavilion. I'm sure it's been photographed a zillion times but it's so gloriously over the top it's hard to resist!

The Pavilion was designed by John Nash for the then Prince Regent George IV and built between between 1787 and 1823 ... more info about it here, for those who are interested.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.