Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Seven spot

What a dreich morning it was, I had no urge to venture out of doors this morning. The afternoon was slightly better though.
We went to the Gyle to try to buy a dress for Isobel who is 5 next week. Ali and I had seen lots of lovely things in Next when we were there a couple of weeks ago so that was our first stop. Not so successful for Isobel though so I headed down to M&S. We came away with a very pretty light denim dress and another light denim pinafore with long sleeved t shirt underneath. I couldn't choose between them so I'll let her mum do that - or she may just end up with both, lol. It's nice being grandma sometimes and being able to spoil them! I try not to do it too often though.

I went for a short walk with Ali just before lunch time and between showers. It's lovely to watch them preparing to be parents. I can't wait to see this little one! Isobel would like it if they shared a birthday but I think Ali would prefer it to be a different date, I'd certainly find it tricky doing both on the same day - although birthday bombing is a bit of a family failing, on both sides!

My blip is of one of the ladybirds which I failed to capture yesterday - or it could be a different one, I can't really tell! It's doing a good job of getting rid of the aphids although that looks more like evidence of a caterpillar on the leaf above it.

I picked up the girls from after school club and took them back to their house for dinner. Mum had left it all in the oven on the timer and by the time she arrived home they were ready for pudding. Isobel is so excited about her birthday next week. She's able to have a party this year too!
I gave Eilidh a copy of the first three St Clare's stories by Enid Blyton in one volume. I think its the thickest book she's read at almost 600 pages! It should keep her going over the weekend. She was well stuck into it by the time I left.

Bridge this evening was very pleasant, we ended up more or less level at the end of the evening but there were a couple of hands where I was pleased with the way I played. My bidding was a bit off at times though, as often happens when playing with a different partner.
My extra today is of one of the roses in the front garden which has responded really well to having the greenery above it thinned out. Last year it had one or two heads on it, this year over 20. This is its second flush too, so I'm very pleased. There's a hover fly in there too! I couldn't get as sharp a picture of the roses as I wanted, the colour intensity messing with the light. Still I've got a record for next time.

So glad to see the numbers going down and that teenagers are going to be vaccinated. Sounds like we'll be having boosters too.
Keep safe everyone, we need to look after each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.