Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

All dried up!

After a dull morning the weather picked up this afternoon so we headed off to Fisherrow Harbour at Musselburgh, to buy some fish and to go for a walk along the prom. We accomplished the first but the latter was foiled when the heel of my shoe disintegrated! I've no idea what caused it but I couldn't walk as a result, so we headed back home. We walked down to Craigleith for some odds and ends then I did some tidying up and repotting in the garden when we got back.
When we were in Falkland the other day I bought a plant at the Palace. I presume Mary, Queen of Scots, planted the original as it was in her garden, lol.
It's a Tulbaghia which I had never heard of before. The flower looks like a tiny version of an agapanthus which is what first drew me to it, but apparently it is a member of the amaryllis family and related to onion and garlic. I've split it into two pots and I'll see if it survives my tender ministrations. A strong garlic scent was mentioned but I couldn't detect it so perhaps its a different strain. For those concerned, I checked with a lemon and some roses and have definitely not lost my sense of smell. Talking of which, today's lateral flow was clear too.
We watched episode 3 of Vigil tonight, thoroughly enjoying it.
Keep safe everyone, our local numbers seem to be coming down, slowly but surely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.