horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Two Days in Edinburgh

Movie Reference 11/31 (and if you haven't seen Julie Delpy's Two Days in Paris, shame on you, go and rent or buy it now, and while you're at it, get Before Sunrise and Before Sunset)

I'm actually really pleased with this shot. I think it just sums up the happiness of being on holiday; being free; and, to put the soppy hat on, being in love. Love is... Not getting to sit down because you're giving a lift to your girlfriend and her guitar.

More precisely Reynald and his girlfriend from Aix-en-Provence, seeing Edinburgh by bike (in truth they may have been here for longer than 2 days, I didn't ask). They saw me snapping away as they approached, laughed as they passed, then stopped further on and came back to ask me if I could email them the photos. It all made for a great lunchtime really, when the blipping possibilities on that one crossroads through the Meadows were legion.

I'd actually popped out from the office on the bike to the Dominion to see if Star Trek tickets were on sale yet (looking to get the big comfy seats the day after release and head there with my gorgeous Mel, uber-nerd Steven and his lovely fiancée Eliza). Finding out that they weren't on sale till the Monday before didn't bother me - I was out on my bike and enjoying the surprising warmth and gentle breeze. So I headed to the Meadows for a wee seat with the camera.

And you could have had: mini-bike fun; or old-fashioned style; or watching girls go by; or cool runnings (this was the favourite till Reynald rolled by); or even Mr Grumpy.

Half a day to go. Woo hoo! Then it's either pizza and a movie at home, or out to Chop Chop (probably) for dinner. And then the weekend with its (annoyingly) changeable weather prediction (we're planning either a walk up the Cobbler, or the Fife Chain Walk - again, blipping opportunities galore!).

In the meantime, I'm going to let these two utterly genuine smiles carry me through the rest of the afternoon. Have a good 'un folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.