Pictures by Ahti's dad

By hevosmies

Fasaani

Managed to get almost an acceptable shot of pheasant finally. I've seen them lately almost every day and a couple of times even had my camera with me. A couple of good shots were ruined because of backlight. I wish I had learnt to think of things like direction of light even at rapidly passing shooting opportunities like this, but I guess I was too focused on my object:)

The pheasant was wandering on a small open field at Tikkurila. When i passed it by with a bicycle, it went behind a bush. When I waited patiently it showed up. After couple of shots I thought about the direction of light and went to other side of the bush, while the pheasant rushed to the other, bush being between us all the time. Then it approached the road but always when it was about to cross the road, a moped, car or pedestrian scared it back. Soon it got enough and flew over the road. I got probably a better videoclip of the flight than any of the still images I shot. I'll probably get a better shot of a pheasant some day soon, but this has to do for today.

Now I've got some ratatouille, Fuller's London Porter and some dark chocolate awaiting, so I have to go!

Have a great weekend! I'm gonna do that, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.