Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Alien...

Those of you who know me probably knew that it was a foregone conclusion that I was going to be back out in the garden today trying to find that big praying mantis again.  And it took me quite a bit of time to spot her, so well did she blend into her surroundings.  But in the end, she was no match for me (or so I'm telling myself).  I pursued her all over the giant buddleia, sustaining no small number of mosquito bites in the process, before she dropped to the ground where I was able to scoop her up on a branch and relocate her.  Now, you probably know that mantids can fly, but you probably also know that they don't like to because they aren't really built for it.  So, I am hoping she will be happy on the bush I've moved her to - it doesn't have any flowers so she won't have a steady stream of prey, so we'll see.

Her size is between 3-4 inches and her coloring provides perfect camouflage.  You can see how well she blends in HERE, and have another look at her interesting face and "praying hands" HERE

We have two hummers in the garden today. I think both of them arrived last night just before sunset and they will probably stay no more than a day or two before continuing on their journey.  In other migrant news, there are at least 4 monarchs in the garden today, too - busy feeding before take to the skies.  Interesting little factoid - the monarchs and the hummers are very likely to take the same migratory route, along the Atlantic Flyway.

Hubs and I have both gotten our third covid jab. The vaccine clinic at the care facility was running like clockwork and we were in and out in under 15 minutes.  Hubs has a bit of a headache; I feel fine.  If this runs like the second dose, I'll feel crappy tomorrow and be fine by Thursday.   And I will be glad for the extra layer of protection when I leave for Columbia in a few weeks.  

Off to make a cup of tea and have a bit of Belgian dark...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.