Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Decisions

My day began at 6:15, with switching the office laptop on to see if there were any invoices to code. I wanted to put in an hour before I left home. There weren't any, so I had a few more (much needed) minutes in bed.

Wednesday is G's bitty day. One hour in the morning, followed by three hours free and then forty minutes in the afternoon. We saw a car in Jebel Ali Village in between lessons. In the ad, the car looks perfect, and in real life, it was one of the better-kept ones we've seen, but a test drive and close inspection made us both want to stay away as far as possible. It was so hot we were soon quite agitated.

We went to Festival Plaza for some lunch. I immediately noticed a book and kitchen shop adjacent to each other. Two shops G loves to get lost in. Guess which one we checked out?

I was able to do some more research while I waited and found a car we could view right away. It was on the other side of town, so it took an hour to get there.  It didn't take G long to know this was it. It's slightly older with higher mileage than I wanted, but the upside is that it's had a single owner who has looked after it and serviced it at the dealer. Phew! The thought of not having to be out in the heat looking at what are sometimes heaps of junk is such a relief.

We got home in time for me to code a few invoices and G to write a report. We then went to the SA meeting and then to Wafi. I had an invite to an artist's (Faris Badwan) exhibition with the opportunity to meet the artist - not something that you get to do every day. My extra is of people waiting to meet him. G had a good conversation with him. It is the way he starts his art; with a conversation.

Glad that the day is over. We had a small bottle of Prosecco to celebrate. It was as tough a decision as having to choose which shop to browse when you have limited time. :)))

I have much to do over the next few days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.