Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lovely 45

Adding to my yard bird visual list with my year-first Yellow-rumped Warbler.  They are much brighter and exotic looking in the spring but I still like their understated fall look.  Just after I snapped this, it dropped down and grabbed a little insect from the garden - click HERE.  Had to go with this shot, though, because I love the background of solidago/goldenrod.

Also in the yard this afternoon was a very young cardinal, still sporting pin feathers and utterly clueless as to how to get a seed out of the seed tray.  It's really late in the year for a brood, but I guess the conditions have been good.  You can see the young-un HERE - cute as a button.

I met up with two friends this morning at the wildlife refuge and we had a great walk around the marsh.  Loads of warblers, vireos and other migratory songbirds and the weather was perfect.  Definitely a good outing.  

Nothing new on the dog adoption front.  Waiting for her foster-mom to have time to do a cat test with the hound.  If that goes well, we'll set up a time to meet her.  We are not going to bring home a dog until I am back from Columbia, so towards the end of October, but would be great if we could lock something in before I leave  Whether we adopt an adult or a puppy, I think it is important for both of us to be totally hands-on right from the start.  

Dark with raspberry again today.  It's very good and hard to limit myself to just one square.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.