The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Blackbird sunset

It was milder today, less windy, and there was sunshine at the end of the day. It was the first time I have seen the sun set for a week or so. This male blackbird is singing his mellow, flutey song in the territory he's established just below Arnside Knott. I was home in time to go for a walk with Wifie and Gus, but when I got a bit carried away with the blackbird and the setting sun, they left me to it.

Maybe we shall hear or see our first Summer visitors this weekend. The cold weather has been holding them up further south and while I would normally expect to have recorded chiff-chaffs, wheatears and sand martins by now, it may be April before I do this year. The resident birds are getting on with nesting activity despite the weather. This last few days I have been watching a pair of carrion crows, and today one of them had sticks in its bill. As we came home this evening a song thrush was singing at the end of our lane. On the other hand, we still have a male reed bunting in the garden, about a mile from the nearest breeding habitat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.