A method I've used before, although this jar has no instruction label... which I think read something like, "Only for emergency use!" Ten and a half years ago a jar containing one cigarette and a lighter helped me to give up smoking. Now I need to give up red wine.

It creeps up on you, one glass per evening becomes half a bottle and then a bottle. I don't think I'm an alcoholic. Yet.

Apart from the risk to my health, drinking is such a waste of time, I have to take into account driving, climbing, needing to be somewhere early the following morning and it's so expensive! Most of all though I don't like how it rules me. It's just like smoking in so many ways... as are all drugs I suppose. 

I've never drunk wine during the day, except with a meal out or at a wedding or something, and I don't generally think about it until around five o'clock when, if I haven't already bought a bottle, I'll have to go and get one even if I've been intending not to drink that day. 

I'm retired so there are no "school nights". I can easily manage a night without drinking now and again, and even two consecutively sometimes, but any more and I end up arguing with myself and the wine wins. I need to stop.

Edit: at last my delivery arrived and I could go for a walk. Only around the big, well-lit block and purposely without my debit card.

PS obviously I can't put any more wine into that glass

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.