Red Back Jumping Spider (Phidippus johnsoni)

Here is the red spider I saw on the rose yesterday. She obligingly came back to the same general area this morning and was very patient while I blundered around with the tripod. I never seem to get the hang of which knob moves what--up, down, around, side to side, tilt--it's a wonder I haven't broken something, either on me or on the tripod. As far as scale goes, she's about a foot long--just kidding. She's the size of a thumbnail, more or less. And according to my very limited research, definitely a female (because of the black stripe). I love the furry back and that tiny bit of beige. I did not see it jump; a jumping spider is something I don't really want to think about.

Note to all you bug people: feel free to correct my not very scientific ID. All I did was compare my photo to some already on Google.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.