The second half of life..

By twigs

Kingfisher stalking

Around this time last year I was told of some kingfishers who were nesting in a large tree in someone's front garden not far away from home.  I went round a few times to seek permission to photograph but no-one was ever in.  I didn't want to be seen photographing around someone else's property without their permission so I didn't pursue it.  I decided on a whim a few days ago to pop back down there and this time was greeted by the owner.  We chatted and, seeing my hefty birdy lens, said I was more than welcome to come back and photograph them, although they weren't nesting yet.  I popped down again this evening and was invited to go onto their property if it meant I could get better shots if I wanted so I was able to sit and watch a couple of kingfishers coming and going.  The fading light wasn't great but R did tell me that they're a lot more active early in the morning.  Given I'll be up and about watching the All Black's v Ireland at 4.00am I think an early morning return could well be on the cards, weather permitting.  They really are quite cute birds although R did suggest they're maybe not quite so cute when they're living so close to the house and using the guttering to smash their crab catches against or flying into the window, mistaking the reflection of the tree for the tree itself, or leaving a lot of toilet waste all over the deck......or chimney (extra).   Hmmmmmmm........

To protect R's location I've given a very general location on the map.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.