The second half of life..

By twigs

Look who's back!

Day began with a chiropractor appointment adn, because I could, a quick trip to the Boulder Bank where I was thrilled to witness this scene.  I can't be sure it's the same chick that I saw on November 2nd but they were on the edge of the same little pond.  On the other side of the water standing not 2m away from the deserted nest and egg I saw on November 11th was mum's mate who was calling a warning (despite me remaining in my car).  The romantic side of me hopes desperately that it is the same family and the young chick survived whatever caused them to flee.  I find this option far more palatable than the possibility of an uncontrolled dog abducting the chick as a plaything.  I had noted two pairs of stilts on the 19th wading along the mudflats but no sign of any chicks.  I was also dive-bombed by a couple so I figure there was a chick or nest nearby somewhere.  Anyway - I was pleased to see this scene (very poor effort to combine 2 images to bring them both into focus) and will definitely be returning soon.  For the time being though, my mind turns, primarily to the exams I'll be helping out with for the next 3 weeks.  Did a couple of hours with M reviewing and fine-tuning the seating plans today.  Looking good to go in earnest now.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.