Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

Angel

Last night
Was despair
A blackness
Settled
Heavily
On already bowed shoulders
This morn
A day
When celebration
Should have flowed
From Christian
And Pagan alike
I wept

And
Like a vulture
There settled
A black bird of selfish guile
Chanting words
Mocking my state
My beliefs
Bringing pain
Despair
Then anger
And I cast it off
With words
It cared not to understand

In its place
There then landed
An angel
Whose laughter
Was the rope
To which I held
Whose friendship and love
The raft
To which I clung
And tears
Of relief
Replaced those of despair


Terry Rhiannyr
March, 2013


I'd said I wasn't going to write today, I was going to have a few days off. I might still do so after today. Keep blipping as I can't go a day without photography now it seems - but give the poetry a miss.

But I had to write tonight's.

The last few days/ weeks have seen depression kicking in seriously again for the first time in a long while, slowly building up until last night/ this morning it reached its peak, or its deepest I suppose. Or at least I hope that was the worst it will get this time.

After I wrote last night's poem I had it pushed down my throat by someone that I would never feel any better while I continued to follow my Wiccan/ Pagan beliefs.

It took a walk on the moors and a phone call with a friend to finally get me climbing out of the hole I'd dug myself into and out of the shit muck the other person had thrown over me with their words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.