Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Butterfly or moth?

Update - Identification - Episteme bisma, moth.

Going into the identification process, I was 75% sure that this little gem was a butterfly. But, every time it landed, it opened its wings, which is a moth trait. Its antennae are long and thin, very butterfly, but thickening in the center slightly, a moth feature. It was very colorful with well defined patterns, which is very butterfly.

After searching through my main butterfly reference sites and drawing a blank, I am now pretty sure it is a moth. I hate identifying moths, the web sites are nowhere near as well documented as the more popular butterflies.

Still, it is a new one for blip and my collection.

Another month begins. I have just completed my March back-ups. Despite whinging about the bug numbers being low, I actually had 397 keepers for the month. I had to go back to October to find a similar number. I guess the month was better than I thought. Very much looking forward to the dry season though.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.