Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Mantis on finger tip

No new bugs today, but still a very enjoyable safari with 18 keepers to choose from. However, not a difficult choice with this image standing out a mile from the others.

I was stretching trying to get a good angle of the mantis on the bloom, but it wasn't working out. So, I decided to chase it around for a better angle. After a few goes of this, I lost sight of the reluctant creature, only to find it on the back of my hand. I decided to go with the flow as the blip monster knows best.

Soon I had an audience of four farmers who crowded around to see what I was photographing. I would have loved to be a second blipper to capture the scene.

Once again, it was a numbers game to capture this tiny juvenile, as I not only had camera shake, but the mantis hand was moving too and the monopod was not in use. Still, I managed 7 keepers from the 40 images.

Hope you enjoy this fun shot of mantis on finger tip.

Today, my son celebrates his 25th birthday. Happy birthday John, wish I was there to help you celebrate.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.