Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Heading Home

An ambulance heading down the A7 to the station in Hawick. There are plenty of bends in the road, but not nearly as many as there used to be. It's still a scenic, but fairly slow, route to cross the Border.

Robyn had chosen some unusual songs for this morning's class. 'One - The Terror Time' is about a Traveller family facing the onset of winter and being turned away from towns because they are outsiders. It was written about 50 years ago (by Ewan MacColl), but describes situations faced today by many minorities throughout the world. I don't suppose our singing will help much but it focusses our minds, and it's a lovely song. Putting links in isn't my strong point, but I'll have a go later.

The trip to Hawick was about furthering the Christmas preparations - by laying in a goodly supply of chocolate for adults and children. And marzipan and icing for the cake - I'm not attempting to make my own this year after last year's avalanche nearly swamped Santa. Karen will be here this year to work her magic.

Back to freezing temperatures this evening, so the fire is blazing. I've put up the first of the decorations, and I think I may just be beginning to feel a little bit Christmassy :-)) And being mindful of how lucky we are.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.