Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just what I needed...

I knew I needed a dose of nature today, something to get me out of my doldrums. Unfortunately, it was very cold and blustery today and way too windy to take the big camera out on the trails. So, I baited the feeders and waited. Didn't take long for some action. Sylvia showed up wanting to know if I was okay (that's code for "gimme peanuts.". She grabbed an acorn and hightailed it the woods where she was greeted attacked by a voracious Seymour. The chase went all over the edge of the woods with squirrels flying, dashing, leaping and all manner of other stunts. Sylvia remained in control of the acorn the entire time, though - making me wonder if it was all just a show. Whatever the case, it was just the thing to cheer me up.

I also found a teeny tiny spider on our stairs this afternoon. It was so tiny that I couldn't really get a good shot, but here is the mediocre version showing his four cute eyes. Some sort of jumping spider I think. He jumped away and is now living somewhere in our house... Something that would have bothered me a few years ago, before Blip...

Thank you to everyone who left heartfelt comments yesterday. So many of you have experienced a similar loss and your sympathy and understanding was very much appreciated. I will take some time to decide how to continue to have my great-grandmother be a part of my wedding ring set ... at least I still have the setting. So many of you have lost entire pieces of jewelery, or even many pieces in some cases. Heartbreaking ... but not as bad as losing a person. I keep reminding myself of that.

When I ventured out today, the sound of all the birds singing their courtship songs was magical. I even heard the chuk-chuk-chuk calls of the pileated woodpeckers coming from deep in the woods. There were robins all over the lawn, looking for grubs and singing their beautiful spring songs. Kind of hard to be sad when all there is so much beauty all around me.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.