A time for everything

By turnx3

A walk in the park

This morning I had one of my OLLI 'classes' - a birding 'class' at Spring Grove Cemetery. Unfortunately I missed the first introductory class last week when he was showing pictures of birds we might see. The best sighting was a group of about eight black-crowned night herons up in a tree near one of the lakes. They have apparently nested there before, but their nests got blown down since last year, and our leader wasnt sure whether they would come back. They were fairly large birds, so easy to see, but a lot of the others he pointed out were pretty small, and I came to the conclusion I need to invest in a better pair of binoculars for birding. I had to meet Roger afterwards to conduct a bit of business, and since that was near our favorite Indian restaurant which does a buffet at lunchtime we had lunch together before going our separate ways again. I went for a walk at Glenwood Gardens - I didnt take my binoculars with me, thinking I wouldnt see that many birds half way through the afternoon, but I regretted my decision as I saw quite a number - swallows, red-winged blackbird, and the Eastern bluebird, and several others I wasnt sure of without the binoculars!. Unfortunately I also only had my small camera with me, so instead of a bird picture, you get spring leaves and blossom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.