Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Lost - and Found!

After searching for many hours yesterday - in every conceivable place - pen boxes, drawers, cupboards and in handbags, I decided at 2.30 a.m. it was time to go to bed - as I turned the hall light off in the hall, I saw a bag which we take when we go away with all our chargers and spare glasses etc. in it.

I then remembered putting a pen box in there sometime ago, snatched up the bag - found the pen box - opened it up - and there it was - my beautiful Parker pen - and not only one but two more - a gold one and a silver one! What joy, what relief - so now I could go to bed, but I just had to let my someone know the pen was found - so went onto Facebook to update my status, and the bonus was that our son in Vietnam was also on FB, so I had a lovely "typing" chat with him. I eventually got to bed at about 3.30 a.m. but by that time, I was so cold that I didn't get to sleep until about 4.30 a.m. but it was all worth it.

The black Parker 51 pen was given to me many years ago, when I was about 10 years old by my cousin, Graham, who has since died. The end of the barrel was broken but that didn't matter, it still wrote well. I had my name inscribed on it, as we had to in those days at school and I was so proud of this pen, and it was probably this that inspired my lifelong love of writing.

I was most upset when I took the pen into W H Smith to have it serviced some years later and when it came back, the barrel had been replaced with a shiny new one - and they hadn't even sent the old one back! Silly to be upset about such a small thing, but it was a link with my past and with my cousin.

When I woke up this morning after about 4 hours sleep, I began to think of what I would blip today (do other blippers do this?) The hymn "Amazing Grace" with the verse "I once was lost but now am found" came into my head, and I thought of verses in the Bible that spoke about lost and found:

Jesus told them this story: "Suppose one of you had a hundred sheep and lost one. Wouldn't you leave the ninety-nine in the wilderness and go after the lost one until you found it? When found, you can be sure you would put it across your shoulders, rejoicing, and when you got home call in your friends and neighbors, saying, 'Celebrate with me! I've found my lost sheep!' Count on it-there's more joy in heaven over one sinner's rescued life than over ninety-nine good people in no need of rescue.

"Or imagine a woman who has ten coins and loses one. Won't she light a lamp and scour the house, looking in every nook and cranny until she finds it? And when she finds it you can be sure she'll call her friends and neighbors: 'Celebrate with me! I found my lost coin!' Count on it-that's the kind of party God's angels throw every time one lost soul turns to God."
Luke 15 : 4-10
(The Message)


I did scour every nook and cranny and eventually found my pen(s) but then I had no-one to tell, because my husband had already been in bed for 3 hours and was flat out! So, the bonus for me was to find my son on Facebook - as it was 8.30 in the morning in Vietnam.

So, fellow blippers, rejoice and celebrate with me - thank you for all your kind comments yesterday, and I hope you all have a great day!

P.S. It's interesting to see that my writing hasn't changed that much since 1985 - almost 30 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.