THAT LOOKS A BIT FISHY!

Yet another grey day and I almost persuaded myself that it wasn't worth going out but needed to post a birthday card so off I went.

It was market day in Boscombe so after a quick coffee stop, when to the surprise of the lady behind me I did my Lent "domino" challenge, I went for a wander.

There was no one near the fish stall, although it had been quite busy until then, so I approached and asked if I could take a photograph. Matthew, the stall holder readily agreed after I told him about my daily blip as he said he knew someone else who did the same thing.

I asked him some questions about the various fish and was amazed that the very large one was a cod - I never realised they were that big! I'm not a particularly "fishy" person myself and am allergic to prawns, although Mr HCB is very partial to a nice piece of fish and if I'm honest, I'm not that keen on the smell!

I think when Jesus told Simon Peter and Andrew that he would make them "fishers of men" if they followed him, they got quite a good deal - at least they wouldn't go home with that lingering "fishy" smell and for that, I'm sure their wives were truly thankful!!

“A photographer is like a cod,
which produces a million eggs
in order that one may reach maturity.”
George Bernard Shaw


By the way, the photograph at the top right is marked "Free head and bones - to paying customers only" - well that's a relief - thought I might have to take the freebie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.