The Bridge...

What a lovely morning for a cyclo-commute. I took this on the way in but it wasn't until later in the day that I found this photo to be more poignant than normal. I actually took a couple of photos on the way across the bridge but this one also included the edge of North Queensferry where Iain Banks lives, just over the hill from me.

If you don't know, Iain Banks is a scottish author but sadly today announced that he has terminal cancer and has only months to live. A real shame and it is one of those Kurt Cobain moments for me where I come to the realisation that his creative output has a definitive finite end.

I think I've already mentioned this in here previously, but every time I'm in North Queensferry, with the kids on beach adventures, I always imagine running into the man in a tearoom or along the beach and get a wee chin wag about AI and supersized space ships.

Gutted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.