Return to the North

By Viking

Denniston Mine

TeeJay and I took her senior english class to Denniston on the West Coast today. They will be studying Jenny Patrick's 'Denniston Rose' very soon and so TeeJay thought it would help them get a feel for the environment of the time if they went and looked at what was there now. So we set off at normal school time and headed west, parking up in a very (VERY) chilly Denniston car park around 10.15.
Teejay then did the guided tour of the various sights while the kids trailed along listening attentively (Yeah right!)
I decided that seeing as though we were looking to a bygone era (1880's onwards) I would shoot some shots in B&W. I liked this shot because of the starkness and played with sepia tones a little to add age.

Of course because my intention was always to blip something Denniston and to include the students in some way, there happened to be dozens of bloody bellbirds just waiting for a pose and camera. So in my blipfolio have included a lovely shot of a bellbird, which on any other day would have been my blip!
the last photo on Almost a Blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.