Crackers

A day spent preparing for Christmas Day - a bit if tidying, cooking various treats, and making six eco-friendly crackers. I've made my own crackers for several years, to avoid buying items with lots of non-recyclable waste and gifts that no-one really wants (though it's been good to see a lot more fully recyclable versions this year). 

I'd planned to use some red crepe paper, but it didn't work. In the absence of any other viable alternatives I ended up using sheets from the Waitrose Weekend newspaper, which I save for pressing plants. I tried to chooses pages that had festive reds and greens - and everyone will get a recipe from their cracker!

The evening was spent at Sarah and Ben's - their first Christmas in their new home. Their living room looked wonderful - very festive! We had a buffet of interesting cheeses, antipasti and nice breads, accompanied by a few drinks, including a welcoming mix of pyment mead and prosecco which was delicious, but quite strong!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.