Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bad hair day...

I had better pictures today, but this one made me laugh which is always a good thing. It seems that some of the white-throated sparrows are molting right now - I am guessing they are first-year birds as I don't think sparrow typically molt in the spring ... but I could be totally wrong! They will be leaving our area soon, headed north to their summer breeding grounds, so I also figured I'd blip one while I still can. And, really, isn't he funny looking withers all askew?

Second runners up today were titmouse with a mouthful of peanut and a bright eyed white-breasted nuthatch. The crazy 'do won the day, though.

Well, I think spring is FINALLY here! The temps were into the 50's today and while it wasn't warm enough for any multi-legged things, the birds were all full of song and the sun was shining. It is still to early to move my tender little seedlings outside, but maybe tomorrow I'll plant the peas and beans ...

Meanwhile, although it is early, I mixed up some sugar water and put the first hummingbird feeder out. I have been watching the online migration map and there have been ruby-throat sightings as far north as Baltimore, already ... soon, very soon....

Thanks for your comments yesterday on my courting finches. I hope to be able to capture more courtship behavior as spring progresses ... and maybe, just maybe, our cherry trees will bloom in the next week, making a wonderful background for birds (and bees!)

Healthy salad tonight of grains, lentils, veggies and a lime-mint vinaigrette. And a nice glass of chilled NZ savignon blanc ...

Happy Thursday, blippers.

xxoo
Debbi

PS - I blipped too soon - after I posted this, a flock of robins came by and this was definitely the shot of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.