Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Grand Piano Finale

The Kawai piano in the recital room at Transformational Voice Institute isn't meant to be the primary piano, but it's filling in after a disastrous accident. One of the grand pianos was being moved (by professionals) a few weeks ago and when a crucial structural piece came off, the piano crashed loudly to the floor and broke with a grand finale, with no hope for repair. Of course, the mover felt horrible (though it was a no-fault accident) and wept, and everyone who was there will probably never forget the sickening crash of piano hitting floor.

Another piano has been purchased, a 1926 Chickering, but it came with some issues, and the Kawai is doing a fine job as a stand-in. I love the glassy finish and the reflections, especially in this richly colored room.

I'm starting to set up my own voice studio in the cottage - getting my supplies together, contacting potential students, making lists of all the things I need to do to make that happen. I'm very excited and a little terrified to be doing this! Five years ago, I never dreamed I'd be in this place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.