The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A Rankin before bedtime

My urge to watch Black and Blue on the drama channel before bedtime was ill-advised. Not only did the storyline differ from that of the book in several aspects, but it was also compressed into two hours, or less if you take away the advertisement time.

As a result, part of my brain was still trying to tie all the loose ends together and I slept badly. Black and Blue was the first Ian Rankin/Rebus book I ever read, and I remember it better than any of the others. I prefer Ken Stott as Rebus to John Hannah. I reckon I must have been at a University of Edinburgh Poetry Society meeting at the same time as Rankin, in 1981. He went on to publicly greater things than I (though I bet you he never supported poet Adrian Mitchell, as I once did)!

The day was dreich. I went out to buy a few necessary items. Most of them were out of stock. C'est le new normal, mes amies. Could not go to the second hand bookshop with my friend A, as planned, because she has tested positive for CoVid and is feeling awful. I'll send her a card, as she has refused all offers of shopping, or even cake delivery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.