Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2022 Monday — ‘47 Ford

When I woke at 5:00 this morning, I found Mr. Fun sound asleep sitting-up on the sofa in our front room. I let him sleep and I crawled back in bed.

Later he told me he sat all night on the sofa because he felt like he was suffocating when he was in bed. He did express that he thought his throat was feeling slightly better. His voice was still a little muffled. He was able to eat hot Cream of Rice cereal for breakfast and he actually swallowed a couple pills without them sticking in his throat.

Late this afternoon we both noticed that we had symptoms of cabin fever; it was a sure sign that Mr. Fun was finally on the road to recovery.

We put harnesses and leashes on the pups and we headed to the Post Office to mail two birthday cards and one anniversary card. Then we headed to an old park, one that Mr. Fun used to play in when he was a youngster. We walked and Chloe and Mitzi sniffed and anointed everything within their range.

And then we were finally at the truck. It needs some tender loving care, but what a classic. I really like trucks from this era. My favorite is a Chevy 5-window pick-up.

After our stroll thru the park neighborhood, we went out for our evening meal. We discovered at dinner that Mr. Fun can swallow well enough to eat solid food, and not just hot cereal or soup. I watched as Mr. Fun enjoyed a meal for the first time in 12 days.

During dinner he looked at me and said, “Feeling good really feels good.” He’s had 12 long days of post-surgery pain that was not related to the incision. I’m glad this is about over. What a relief to have him feeling better.

Good night from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.