A very big fish tank

The other major theme park in Hong Kong is Ocean Park, which has certainly been revamped since our last visit. Far too much to see to really describe here, and more animal pictures than I really know what to do with. I'm sure pictures of pandas, sea lions, marine animals, and various birds will be highly saught after one day. I also took a couple of portraits of members of staff who seemed to be going around enthusing them with how terrific this place was, but I thought they were a bit too similar to the ones I took at Disneyland.

In terms of unique sights, I was most impressed with the 'Grand Aquarium', which is a seriously large water container filled with animals too well fed to consider gobbling each other up. In my eyes at least, the name really isn't an unjustified hyperbole. This picture is of the main viewing area, and the people here are standing in front of a huge wall of high strength glass that's holding a volume of water that I shudder to think about. It's an amazing piece of engineering, and I had no idea it was possible to create such a large single piece of flat glass surface with this much strength.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.