Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Market stall Seller

Tai Po has a new-ish market building over what used to be a loose collection of shacks. I'm not sure if it was built after the SARS scare in 19??,but there's no way some of the scenes I took back then with my film camera in gritty pushed Ilford HP5 would be seen now. The new market still has a rather strong smell which my utterly pampered Westernized kids refused to tolerate, especially around the fresh fish stalls. So they left me to enjoy the sights by myself. I think it's great that Hong Kong shoppers have not been driven into to a handful of multi-billion supermarkets, and that these small food markets are still extremely vibrant. I can only think that from a shopper's point of view, having all the stalls in the one building is just as convenient as a big out-of-town supermarket.

It took a few attempts, but I eventually managed to get a couple of the stall owners to pose for a picture. I chose this lady working in one of the vegatble stalls, mainly because its better lit than the other portrait. I also think she has a really interesting face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.