The Best - and Worst - Birthday

It started so perfectly lovely. Mum made me stay in bed, and came in singing the Swedish Ja må hon leva birthday song. I got presents and balloons and even flyaway balloons! I had a great time opening and tasting my presents. And I had greetings from several friends including my sister Nora, who of course also has her birthday today!

Then we had a video celebration with our best friend Heidi in England, with more present opening and snack tasting. Especially the Dolly sticks, that my BFF Dolly introduced me to! Fabulous! And I got a new sheep friend called Tilly who instantly made friends with my new alpaca friend Jessie. Yay! 

Then me and mum went for our traditional birthday outing with a picnic. Because of the stupid kennel cough, it was only a short walk and we had the picnic (egg and kaviar sandwich) on a bench. It was chilly and quite windy. When we set off back to the car, mum says I started to breathe in a strange way. Hyperventilating, she said. Like I couldn’t get enough air. 

And this you will not believe. She rang the vet! On my birthday! And got the first available emergency appointment (three hours later). On my birthday!! I snoozed at home, got my cake postponed to another day and then we went to the vet! On my BIRTHDAY!!! Unbelievable.

I spent two and a half hours being poked, prodded, had my blood drawn and had thermometers put unceremoniously you-know-were. On my birthday! Bottom line, no pneumonia, just kennel cough and a low-grade fever and not really any answer to what happened. 

At least we had kebab pizza for dinner, as promised. And then we were both exhaustipated. 

The vet! On my birthday! I’m still in disbelief. 
Oh! I’m eight, by the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.