Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Dazzling Damsel

Identification - Vestalis luctuosa, Demoiselle.

I see this most flamboyant of damsels quite often, but it has proven impossible to photograph at this location as it rarely moves far from the surface of the stream water and the overhanging foliage. The closest my safari path approaches the stream is about six feet, still too high and lacking in foliage at that location.

I have four images taken at the waterfall location, but I never blipped them at the time, beaten to the blip post by a stunning image of mating dragons in flight, back last August. I figured that I could get the damsel any time but the dragon shot was a rarity.

So, today was a very pleasant surprise when this male alighted much closer to me than normal. Still five feet away and some cropping required to make an image.

This is easily the largest of the damsels that I see. At 2" body length and a wing span exceeding 3", it is probably larger than the dragons that I see. Its wing beat looks rather slow and clumsy, but still highly skilled as you watch it thread its way amongst the spider webs that populate the same area.

A huge first for my journal, hope you enjoy.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.