Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Eye up close

I have waited for two years to get this shot. The soldier fly’s mackerel pattern has always fascinated me, but I have never been able to get close enough to take a series of shots in order to choose the best one. This fly allowed me 30 goes before it finally tired of me.

Thank you for all the nice comments about getting the China job. I received a confirmation email from the agent stating indeed that the client wanted me. They need one more guy, so when that is settled, I will be moving fast. I am writing my packing list now, so packing should only take 15 minutes and then I will be out of the door.

The last three years have been a terrible time and I really wasn’t expecting to get another job opportunity and resigned myself to being retired. I always intended to write the full saga, but didn’t want to do that until there was a happy conclusion. So hopefully that diary blip will be coming soon.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.