Homemade...

Yesterday was the end of my 'One shot, one sentence' week.

It proved to be an interesting project and certainly reduced my time spent blipping (which was one reason for doing it). It some ways it made things easier, being totally in the hands of fate can be liberating but it was also challenging to get what I wanted from one pic and even harder to tell the tale of my day in one sentence.

On the whole I found it frustrating and it did take a lot of the fun out of the blip experience. Especially when MrSmith decided that I should only be allowed to have one comment on my page as well! I really can't say I enjoyed the self imposed limitation but it was interesting to try and it did make me think that the odd one shot/one sentence would be the way to go when real life takes over.

Today, I made up for it by taking lots of out of focus pics of a feeding frenzy in the kitchen. Steven was experimenting with a new jam recipe he'd found, Rhubarb + Vanilla. He also made another batch of lemon curd* and knocked up a few scones for a supporting role as jam carriers.

* These are being made at least weekly at the moment due to the vast amounts of eggs available.

All were met with approving crumb filled comments from people who should know better than to talk with their mouths full.

Not being a rhubarb jam lover or a huge vanilla fan, I tried the R&V with trepidation. Can't say I'd eat it daily but it was fragrant, made a pleasant change and I think would be lovely as a sponge cake filling. The rhubarb fiends in the house decided it was worthy of eating straight from the jar.

The only criticism came from the small person staring at an almost empty jar.... "That lemon curd never lasts very long."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.