Peep peep! Sploosh sploosh!

Saturday was a real peach of a day. We had a few cold nights in a row late last week, but Saturday turned out to be gorgeous: sunny and quite a bit warmer. My husband and I seized the opportunity to go for a six-hour hike in our local woods.

The news from the woods is good! There are vernal pools everywhere and they are filled with frogs and gelatinous masses of eggs. If you look at this picture, you might think it was a quiet scene, but it was not! It was a veritable symphony, as every little frog had its say. Spring has sprung! Love is in the air and it is a very VOCAL kind of love!

My husband (walking dude, blue windbreaker, center of photo) made his way around the edge of one of the ponds as I took pictures. In his wake, there was much peeping and splooshing!

Peep peep! Sploosh sploosh!

Ridiculously enough, the cacophony reminded me of that classic disco number by Donna Summer that includes these lyrics: Toot toot! Ahh . . . Beep beep! Toot toot! Ahh . . . Beep beep!

So, for all of our enjoyment, here is a link to disco queen Donna Summer performing two of her best: Bad Girls and Hot Stuff! You can sing along with me if you like. You can even crank it up and dance across the room! I did!! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.