... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Sneaky Robin!

Larger than life(size) in large ("L").

I think this is the closest I've ever been to a robin, and no creeping was involved on my part! I had been crouching on a pontoon by the water's edge (photographing bickering mallards) for about 10 minutes when I suddenly heard very loud singing nearby. I knew it was a robin, but couldn't see it in the bush above me, then I looked down and saw it: it was just behind me! I took a photo quickly (assuming that it'd fly off as soon as I swivelled), but managed to get quite a few photos before it flew deep into the same bush where it continued to sing loudly...
Gosh, it had crept up on me! Cheeky little bird.

I had a good photo amble on Wandsworth Common this afternoon: the sun was (almost) out, and the light was good. As soon as I arrived I got a funny snapshot of a moorhen scrambling for a piece of bread that a man had just thrown for it: it seemed so urgent and flapped over, grabbed the bread, then scarpered in spite of the fact that there were no other birds nearby... No wonder they're known as "skitty coots".
I also got a picture of a different robin that was sitting in a tree with the sun almost behind it: I used spot metering, and am pleased with the result. I was torn about which to blip, but my blip assistant preferred the photo that I've blipped!

I visited Eagle Pond this morning hoping to see new goslings, but there was no sign of goslings or Mrs. Goosle. Perhaps she is missing because they are hatching? I don't know... I'll be back to check again tomorrow morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.