The second half of life..

By twigs

The lovely Lindis

Got up early to see the sun rise on some mist in the basin but a strong breeze blew away any hope of that happening!  Ah well - nice to start the day early anyway.  The weather has looked like it was going to let rip with some [more] rain on and off for most of the day but that breeze seems to have kept things at bay.  I've been looking forward to the Lindis Pass drive for a few days and, given that tonight's chosen camping spot is less than 100kms from last night's spot I had all day to really enjoy it. It didn't diappoint.  There's someting about the scale, the sparse golden hills and the deep afternoon shadows that really strikes a cord with me.  Fabulous spot.  And whilst I was up there amongst the grasses a couple of wee birds joined me (see extras).  They really did appear to want to share my company as they appeared on three of four occasions just metres from wherever I happened to have walked.  I had thought they were yellowhammers but I'm not absolutely sure now that I have seen them onscreen.  I'm not even sure they're the same type of bird as each other so maybe there were more than just the two of them hanging around.....?  Maybe one is male and one female?  If anyone can identify them I'd really like to know.  

Staying tonight at a DoC site (Department of Conservation) which is the old Lindis Hotel.  I arrived quite late so shall explore the area more tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.