Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Focus on the positive

Just over a year ago I started putting my cycling miles (and some walks, particularly when we were on holiday) into a virtual mission.  I started with Lands End to John O'Groats, and when I completed that in August I decided that, since I was already in Scotland (virtually, at least) I would do the North Coast 500.  Half the distance, it has taken me just as long - but that's because we've been away rather more in the last few months.  I did manage to finish it last week, and sent for the medal, which arrived today.

Positive thoughts were very important, as it arrived whilst we were examining our bunged up drains!!!  We'd noticed that the shower didn't seem to be draining quite as well as usual, and decided to open up the various inspection ports in our drainage system (we have a septic tank), and discovered that we have a blockage.

Our "go to" for emptying the tank is an outfit called Go Tankers, and when I contacted them they initially said they couldn't fit us in until next week, until I came over all pathetic over the phone, when they managed to squeeze us in on Friday.  I suggested that the tank itself is not the problem, that the drains would need rodding to clear them - they don't do that, but the woman in the office said that usually, if they just suck out all the gubbins, this actually clears the problem without needing to rod the drain - keep your fingers crossed.  Now we're on tenterhooks every time we flush the toilet - will the system cope till Friday?

It never rains but it pours.  It's raining again this morning as I compose this Blip, and we could hear running water - on investigation, one of our downpipes has become detached from the gutter and water is running down the side of the house!!!!  We don't possess a ladder long enough - but "fortunately" we are expecting a visit from the roofing chaps in the next few days, and hopefully they will have one we can borrow the use of.

They say things happen in threes - so I hope that's the three!  Roll on Ireland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.