Ten Years

A lot has changed in my life in the last ten years.   Some of it has seemed impossibly hard at times.   Yet, here I am, living in a beautiful place that I've known since childhood.   Life goes on.   Ten years ago I sowed a few seeds of Hyacinthus orientalis, the seed originating in Turkey where it grows wild, obtained through a seed exchange.   It shouldn't have taken ten years but today I found these first flowers.   The wild plants do not have the densely flowered stems of the horticultural varieties but this is the plant from which the hyacinths on sale in shops now were bred from.   It does have the delicious scent though.

I've had a slower day than of late.   The weather improved as the day went on, Meg and I enjoyed our riverside stroll late this afternoon - extra pic.    I'm still tired though and fell asleep after my tea.   Nothing major planned this week so hopefully I can recharge.

Any ruminations I may have about the last ten years are cast in a different light by what has happened to the people of Ukraine in the last eighteen days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.