JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

At a Glance

I have decided, with some reluctance, that it is time to complete my set of blips of the Sculpture Trail in Lickey Woods.

I hesitate because I think this particular sculpture is dreadful.

Designed by Nayan Kulkami, it is called 'At a Glance' and was installed in 2001. The idea is that you stand underneath, look up at the screen and see a two dimensional picture of 'where you have been or where you might be heading'.

I have tried this and can't see anything of the sort, but maybe my crass appreciation of modern art is interfering with my perception :-)

Of the five sculptures on the trail my favourite by some way is The Green Man. In joint second place I have Spirit of the Woods and Icarus. In fourth place is the very underwhelming Alter, but the wooden spoon is most definitely awarded to At a Glance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.