Repairing the Lock

I walked to my recorder lesson first thing this morning and, as usual, I was looking out for things I may have previously overlooked on what is a very familiar four mile route.  It's getting more difficult each walk but I did spot a heron atop a very large tree, daffodils over a wall near the Sports Club and a memorial plaque on the canalside near the Hirst Wood lock which is the subject of my blip.  

The lock is blocked off at the moment for repairs to the wooden gates and I hope that narrowboat sailors have had plenty of warning!  I have been enjoying the Canal Stories series on tv, one of those quiet, beautifully made and photographed programmes we do so well.  Last night narrowboater Robbie Cumming travelled across the Pennines to Gargrave and Skipton, concluding at the five rise locks in Bingley, often the subject of local blippers.  It was great to see familiar sights from the air and also from the angle of the narrowboat.  Tonight Robbie moves on to Saltaire, which was my destination for my lesson today.

I've been learning about semitones today and I have homework to do.  Afterwards I called in at Digins Hut for a coffee and one of their delicious creme brulee doughnuts.  Tony rang to see if I wanted picking up and we arranged to meet a mile along the canal at Dowley Gap as it had started to spot with rain.  The afternoon has been spent working on the orienteering display which will be on show at the Easter International based in Cardiff.  Much printing, cutting, sticking and double-sided taping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.