Pictures by Ahti's dad

By hevosmies

Season's end

I was planning to go on ice today for the last time this spring. Three days ago there was still 57 centimetres of ice close to the place where I was planning to go. Only about 1/3 of that is weak ice. So I think it would've been safe to go but I still decided not to. I'm still not that familiar with the lake. There might be currents I'm not aware of making the ice weaker at some spots. It's also been above zero also during nights for the last few days.

So instead of going on ice I walked to the island (along a bridge) of Pölhö. I made a fire, warmed up a stew and had a wheat beer. The weather sure wasn't great for outdoor activities. Most time it was either raining, snowing or sleeting. But the fireplace has a roof so it didn't matter that much though of course it would've been nicer on a sunny day. But thanks to weather I got to be there on my own which was nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.