memento

By memento

Monitor lizard...

The faucet I call my nose has been a little less drippy today but my ears are stuffed with cotton and making squeaky noises.

In four hours we will be boarding a plane to Virginia and I can predict with relative certainty that it's going to suck. I'll be the one screaming and holding my ears when we start descending to land.

My little wire monitor lizard here is from South Africa. The local people create the most extraordinary animals and other objects from wire. My mom got this one for me on a previous trip and it hangs from my monitor all the time.

Last night we watched another episode of "Galapagos". It always leaves me in total awe and hoping that some day I could see it for myself. The creatures who reside there endure the harshest conditons imaginable, yet they find a way to survive and even flourish.

Two things came to mind as I was watching it. One: I hope that, IF I am reincarnated, that I come back with the velvety voice of Tilda Swinton.

Two: the life of a marine iguana pretty much sucks. Worse than getting on a plane with stuffed up ears. For sure.

Thanks for all the well wishes :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.