Because this is who I am

By Brighde

Use The Big Knives

So obviously, in true me fashion I haven’t posted anything for at least a million years. Mainly because I’ve been on holiday for the entirety of January then forever been depressed about how I’m not on holiday anymore.

But it’s April on Friday and it’s never too late to start off the year. On that note I would like you all to share with me my New Years resolution.

Use the big knives

The biggest cliche of my life is ‘I’m not a normal girl’. Did the vomit rise in your throat too? Good. So for Christmas last year, like most girls do, my dad gave me a carving set. A knife, a sharpener and a proper board. I’ve been asking for one for ages so this was very exciting and as a big roast family, I already new how to take care of them and sharpen etc.

Fast forward about 3 months and this knife is chilling in its case where it lives and I’m like ‘no no no I can’t use it because it’s too nice’. Use the damn knife.

I’m still using my smelly £10 knives from Amazon to try and cut… what? Butter? Because it’s not doing anything else! I save these things for occasions but when they arise I’m like oh goodness I could never.

Use the big knives.

And this mantra is basically my entire theme for the year. I’m sick of holding back on thing because I’m waiting for the right time. There’s no right time. The right time is now! I have a million dresses and tops in my bedroom with tags on because there’s never a time to wear them. Nows the time. I’ve wanted to go places and eat things I’ve been waiting for the opportune moment. Why?! I’m not waiting.

Use the big knives.

Since starting my career in optics I thought I’d just sail through without doing anything special, just earning enough to get by and in a job I can tolerate. I’ve suggested to go forward but people have said ‘oh no that’s too hard for you’ or ‘you’ll struggle way to much for that’. And shockingly, I believed them. So I carried on sailing through until the voice in my head said ‘you could do/be more, but wait for the moment’. But why? Im not waiting. Which leads me to start my dispensing optician course hopefully, in September if I can get funding.

Use the big knives.


Happy Blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.