Silver Charms

A jug, a boot like Wellington's,
an imp that thumbs its nose,
a mouse, a lamb, a lucky bean,
(young Jack had five of those).

Another imp - from Lincoln -
foot folded under arms:
a selection from a bracelet of
my mother's silver charms.

poem © Celia Warren 2013

My mother's charm bracelet grew so heavy that she divided the charms and spread the weight across two bracelets. When she died, my sister and I decided it would be nice if our daughters each had one of the bracelets.

This is one section of the bracelet that has gone to my daughter. It is perfect for her as it includes lots of animals (she is a magnet to animals of all kinds) and a teapot (she lives on tea) - which is not in this photo.

I have blipped my own charm bracelet once on this site and might do so again in June, in celebration of the Queen's jubilee. As I was born in coronation year, a number of my charms reflect the coronation. You can see the Coronation coach & Westminster Abbey here.

It's another grey, wet, miserable day, hence the indoor blip. Had hoped to do some gardening today, but it's not going to happen. I am so sick of this weather. Whinge over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.