analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Not Goodbye, Just Tot Ziens. Lumix M4/3 14mm

This evening I went to dinner with my colleagues from the clinical site where I began my radiography career in 2007.  The lady in the center, who hired me  straight out of  x-ray school, is retiring.  Back then, the x-rays were real films, not the digital images of today, and were processed in a machine which did the whole thing, soup-to-nuts in 3 minutes per film.  It was a finicky beast though, and prone to frequent failures and hiccups.  She told me recently that she hired me for the shift to work solo as "the closer" because she figured that if I could build a harpsichord, I could deal with the processor if it misbehaved...  Supervisors and managers like C don't come along every day.  She will be missed.  The others have been incredible colleagues over the years, our little x-ray family.
Back in 2014, for the annual celebration of Wilhelm Roentgen's discovery of x-rays, we got together for a lunch.  The only available surface was the bone density table, so that's where we set up shop.  It's interesting to me to look back at the faces separated by 7-and-some years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.