Once Around the Island

Morning got away 
on me - I bolted with my 
camera in hand

~ carliewired

I'd checked the forecast for today before retiring. It promised another grey day. I made every effort to ignore the start of the day thinking it would be a day of grey and gloom. At 6:20 the light pierced under my bedroom door waking me suddenly. I rushed out to my balcony to find the sun already fully present in the east. I missed my sunrise! 

I was driving into McArthur Island Park at 7:30. The morning light was sharp and bright. There were already teams practicing on the baseball fields. I parked near the foot bridge and walked along the Rivers Trail. To my great delight a mallard duck had her little brood along the shore of the slough. She was keeping a watchful eye on them. My surprise of the day was finding a man with his fly fishing rod down on the shore of the slough. I don't think that's allowed in a park! The slough is just stagnant water right now. I can't think you'd really want to eat any fish from there. 

I walked across the foot bridge where I found a lovely male wood duck with his mate. I looked to the east side of the bridge to get a shot of the slough in morning sun. 

I drove over to the south side of the island to find my marmots. They were very active along the river's edge. I left my quilted heart on a bench overlooking the river. 

I'm home for the day. I have ideas for some quilt blocks I'd like to play with.

We had a welcome rain shower yesterday. We might expect more of the same today. The forecast is for a high of 17 C and a mainly cloudy day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.