Time Out

Work was very busy today - I'm working from home while Catherine is recuperating this week and while I find I can clear certain things with less distraction, I miss the buzz in the office and being able to bounce ideas.

I'd mentally set aside today to clear the 'bits' that had built up this week. I thought I might have a day of organising and getting ready for what will be a very busy week next week, but instead many unexpected things came in that demanded my attention and while I'd much rather be too busy than not, I found that I haven't had any time to 'compartmentalise' what I need to do next week.

The clouds got heavy by the time I switched off the PC and I had thought that I might not go out, and instead get something from the house or garden for my blip. Mentally tired it seemed like a good idea...

But then the cloud cleared and the sun was warm, the moon was half like a big beaming smile, the birds were singing with a simple joy and Spring could actually be smelt.

I swear I'm so more 'in tune' being a Blipper. Anyone who knows me probably thinks I'm a blithering idiot going on about chirpy birds and crackling clouds...

I reminded myself that as much as my back ached from being hunched over my PC, and my brain hurt from thinking and thinking, that I've said so many times that the way to relax is to get out.

So I did. I feel bad as Catherine is housebound and I don't want to come back and say how awesome it was out there, when she can't go out, but I also think she needs a break from me and I'm a better person when I've had fresh air :o)

I was so glad I did. Within moments of being on the moor I traced a low flying bird that I'd never seen before. I photographed it as it landed in a twiggy tree and when I got home I could see it was a sparrowhawk :o) I've only seen one once before and it was so fleeting. The photo was rubbish but I'm pleased to see it.

Lapwings - love them :o) They were flying and whooping like merry folk who'd just won the World Cup. So distinctive and a joy to see.

And then I heard a piercing warbling song, I looked up and there were three curlews in flight! I got some OKish pictures and I'll Flickr them later, but I know I can get better - I just hope I see them again! No heron tonight though but I can't complain.

I got more lambs with a backdrop of the city, ducks in flight, landscapes, it was all happening and all the while I could feel the tension of the week disappearing.

By the time I'd circumvented the moor I was chilled out, I'd inadvertently sorted out a 'to do' list for work next week and was ready for the weekend.

And the sun was setting :o)

Thank you for the love for yesterday's heron :o) It's a bit of an optical illusion as I was 'below' the heron, although it looks like I was above it!

Have a great weekend Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.