Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

The Lord is my Shepherd

When Lorna and I started looking through mum's stuff earlier this week, looking for clues and guidance for the funeral we were surprised to find this. It's mum's wedding bible which she held throughout the ceremony all those years ago.

Most surprising was this hand written note. It contains the words for the 23rd Psalm, translated into broad Scots (imaging a Robert Burns poem). Delighted with our find we decided it should be read at her funeral service. My aunt Alison who is familiar with making addresses at the pulpit kindly agreed to do the reading.

After close scrutiny mum's version turned out to be a parody, therefore the version Alison will read (and there are many out there), will be as follows:

Wha' is my shepherd weel I ken
The Lord himsel' is He:
He leads me whaur the girse is green
An' burnies quiet that be.

Aft times I fain astray wad gang
An' wann'r far awa':
He finds me oot, He pits me richt
An' brings me hame an' a'.

Tho' I pass thro' the gruesome cleuch
Fin' I ken He is near:
His muckle crook will me defen'
Sae I ha'e nocht to fear.

Ilk comfort whilk a sheep could need
His thoughfu' care provides:
Tho' wolves an' dogs may prowl aboot
In safety me He hides.

His guidness an' His mercy baith
Nae doot will bide wi' He:
While faulded on the fields o' time
I wull bide in the Hame o' my Faither for ever..




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.