The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Morning browse

The early morning light was divine, and mist was lying on the low hills. At this time of year, every day brings fresh flowers into bloom and new migrant birds arriving. The willow warblers, absent a week ago, are now here in force. At last I saw my first wheatear of the year.

After a walk with Gus over the Knott to see the Highlands, I did my wetland bird survey that I had postponed from last Sunday because of the high winds. Although conditions were good, the results were disappointing. But I did see three curlews displaying, and two little egrets in the fields.

Arnside has been busy today with the Vintage Weekend and a Cross Bay Walk, but I'm afraid that I avoided all that, instead making progress with tidying the garden and planting the first of the seeds.

An early blip as we are going out to a concert this evening. Gus and Bob will be home alone. I shall be back later with comments.

ps The view is east from Arnside Knott across the woods of Slackhead and the grassy Clawthorpe Fell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.